Skip to content

TOBY Application Process

TOBY Awards Application Webpage Header

TOBY Information & Application Process

Applications Due September 26 | $300 Application Fee 

The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) Award

The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) Award is the most prestigious and comprehensive program of its kind in the commercial real estate industry. TOBYs recognize excellence in building management, operational efficiency, tenant retention, emergency planning, and community impact.

To win a BOMA International TOBY Award, a property must first earn the BOMA 360 designation and win both local and regional competitions. As a winner (local, regional, or international), you gain the opportunity to showcase your building’s strengths and the recognition as best-in-class operations and management. Judging is based on criteria that include community impact, tenant and employee relations programs, energy management, accessibility, emergency evacuation procedures, building personnel training programs, and overall excellence.

Our Chicago buildings are truly the best of the best and continue to win at the international level. Since 2010, 21 Chicago buildings have won the International TOBY Award.


You are more TOBY-ready than you think! And that is why we encourage you to apply for the local 2025 TOBY. This is your chance to showcase your expertise and excellence in property management.

Step One: Read through the Requirements & Resources

Step Two: Contact Jaclynne Madden by August 2

Contact Jaclynne Madden at no later than August 2. She will need to know the building and category you plan to enter. Jaclynne Madden will become the main point of contact and an excellent resource to you and your team. She will update you on new changes, important dates, BOMA 360 details, application processes, and more.

Step Three: Submit Your Application

To enter the Local TOBY awards competition, you must first pay the $300 entry fee directly to BOMA/Chicago before you submit your application. To pay this fee (via credit card or invoice), please log into the BOMA/Chicago website and then click here. Applications must be submitted on the online portal by 5 PM on September 26.


There are 19 categories this year, and you can only apply for one.

  • Under 100,000 Square Feet
  • 100,000 to 249,999 Square Feet
  • 250,000 to 499,999 Square Feet
  • 500,000 to 1 Million Square Feet
  • Over 1 Million Square Feet
  • Corporate Facility
  • Earth
  • Historical Building
  • Industrial
  • Life Sciences Building
  • Medical Building
  • Mixed-Use
  • Public Assembly
  • Renovated Building
  • Retail – Enclosed Mall Under 1 Million Square Feet
  • Retail – Enclosed Mall Over 1 Million Square Feet
  • Retail – Open Air/Strip Mall
  • Suburban Office Park - Mid-Rise
  • Suburban Office Park - Low-Rise