Skip to content

Illuminate Chicago Lighting Program

Illuminate Chicago Webpage Header

Illuminate Chicago Information

Chicago has the world-wide reputation as the "Windy City" and the home of the first skyscraper. But all Chicago residents know and can easily envision the true gem of our city – the Chicago skyline and our beautiful buildings that light up the night.

BOMA/Chicago Building Members include all of the city’s iconic office buildings that comprise our skyline. This is why many organizations reach out to us in regards to lighting up the skyline for their various civic and philanthropic causes.

In an effort to assist our members with the multitude of light requests they receive on a monthly basis, BOMA/Chicago created the Illuminate Chicago Lighting Program. This program allows BOMA/Chicago to collect and review all light requests and subsequently provide our members with light recommendations. It is important to note that all of our Building Members are independently owned and managed and that BOMA/Chicago does not mandate that Building Members light up for the initiatives we approve.

Buildings are reminded to abide by our Lights Out Chicago program to avoid  bird collisions by extinguishing decorative lighting on rooftops and upper floors by 11 p.m. each night during Spring and Fall migration seasons.

Submit an Illuminate Chicago Application

BOMA/Chicago’s building lighting program, Illuminate Chicago, was created nearly a decade ago to coordinate building lighting opportunities to support civic and charitable causes. We invite you to review the Illuminate Chicago requirements. If you meet all of these requirements, you can apply to have your request approved. The application can be accessed here. Please note that there is a $100 non-refundable administrative fee for organizations submitting light requests.

If you have any questions about this application, please contact Rob Johnson, Director of Civic Engagement, at rjohnson@bomachicago.org or 312-870-9600.

Upcoming Requests

Raising Hope Awards
Requested by: 100 Club of Illinois
Dates: September 22 - 25, 2021
Color: Gold, White, and Navy
Phrase: 100 Club
Contact: Lauren Petrosky at lpetrosky@100clubil.org
Website: www.100clubil.org

Breast Cancer Awareness Month
Dates: Anytime During the Month of October 2021
Color: Pink
Contact: Rob Johnson at rjohnson@bomachicago.org

National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Weekend (October 2 and 3)
Requested by: National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
Dates: October 1 - 4, 2021
Color: Red
Phrase: CFD
Contact: Donna Clark at dclark@firehero.org
Website: www.firehero.org

2021 Postseason
Requested by: Chicago White Sox
Dates: October 4 – 8, 2021
Colors: Black and White
Phrase: "Go Sox", "White Sox"
Contact: Michael Downey at mdowney@chisox.com
Website: www.whitesox.com

43rd Annual Bank of America Chicago Marathon
Requested by: Bank of America Chicago Marathon
Dates: October 8 – 10, 2021
Colors: Red
Phrase: 26.2
Contact: Alex Sawyer at alex.sawyer@cemevent.com
Website: www.chicagomarathon.com

Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day
Requested by: METAvivor
Dates: October 11 – 15, 2021
Colors: Green, Teal, and Pink
Phrase: #LightUpMBC
Contact: April Courtright at courtrightaprilm@gmail.com
Website: www.metavivor.org/events/lightupmbc/

Red Ribbon Week
Requested by: Drug Enforcement Administration
Dates: October 17 – 23, 2021
Colors: Red
Phrase: Red Ribbon
Contact: Luis Agostini at luis.agostini@dea.gov
Website: www.dea.gov

World Hypophosphatasia Day/HPP Awareness Week
Requested by: Soft Bones, Inc & The US Hypophosphatasia Foundation
Dates: October 24 – 30, 2021
Colors: Red & White
Phrase: #CureHPP
Contact: Bonnie Starr at bonnie@softbones.org
Website: www.softbones.org

Halloween
Dates: October 29 - November 1, 2021
Colors: Orange
Contact: Rob Johnson at rjohnson@bomachicago.org

Light the World in Teal
Requested by: Alzheimer's Foundation of America
Dates: November 4 - 6, 2021
Colors: Teal
Contact: Peggy Kruger at pkruger@alzfdn.org
Website: www.alzfdn.org

Children's Grief Awareness Day
Requested by: Rainbow's For All Children
Dates: November 12 - 16, 2021
Colors: Light Blue
Contact: Stephanie Garrity at stephanie.garrity@rainbows.org
Website: www.rainbows.org

Shine a Green Light on Injury Prevention
Dates: November 17 - 19, 2021
Colors: Green
Contact: Amy Hill at alhill@luriechildrens.org

Holiday Season and New Year
Dates: December 18, 2021 - January 4, 2022
Colors: Red, Green and White
Contact: Rob Johnson at rjohnson@bomachicago.org