2019 General Municipal Election Recap

By Mary Kay Minaghan, MKM Services

The February 26 election may be over but ballot counting continues. Mail-in ballots postmarked by election day can be counted until March 12, one week before the Board of Elections must certify the election results.

While there were more than twice the number of mail ballots requested this year, turn out on election day was lack luster. The staggering number of candidates running for Mayor contributed to the low voter turnout. Not since 1901 had Chicago voters been presented with so many choices for Mayor — 14 in total.

The April 2 election will feature run-offs in the races for Mayor, Treasurer and eight, or possibly nine, Aldermen.

In the 6th Ward, incumbent Alderman Roderick Sawyer is hanging on by just four votes. Mail ballots are still being counted and may force Alderman Sawyer into a run-off yet.  Run-offs will also take place in four wards where the incumbent opted not to seek re-election. 

Lori Lightfoot placed first in the February 26 Mayoral election with Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle 8,280 votes behind her. William Daley, viewed by many to be the candidate of business, was 7,051 votes behind President Preckwinkle. Daley was the most well financed candidate, raising about $3 million more than President Preckwinkle did. The fourth place finisher, Willie Wilson, was the only other candidate to get into double digits with 10.61% of the vote.  In fact, he won more African American wards than President Preckwinkle did.

The top two candidates are already busy trying to secure Wilson’s support, who is expected to decide in a week or so. Whoever receives his endorsement will enjoy a big boost to their campaign. Suzanna Mendoza secured a significant majority of the Latino vote, despite the fact that another Hispanic, Gery Chico was in the race. On election night, President Preckwinkle’s speech signaled that this mayoral race will not be for the faint of heart. It is too early to predict who may win this contest, but one thing is for certain, on April 2 the first African American female will become Chicago’s next Mayor.

Less watched was the race for Treasurer.  This was an open seat due to the retirement of Kurt Summers.  Finishing in first place was State Representative Melissa Conyears-Ervin who received 44.3% of the vote. Alderman Ameya Pawar (47th Ward) retired from the City Council to run for this seat and placed second with 41.57%.

Representative Conyears-Ervin, with an MBA in Finance, is focused on protecting the City’s $7 billion in assets, as well as the four pension funds.  Alderman Pawar has advocated turning the City’s $7 billion in assets into a public bank of sorts to bank hard to bank commodities such as marijuana and to provide low interest loans for homes, cars and other items to low-income residents. Alderman Pawar’s plan takes the City in a very different and perhaps ill-advised direction considering the City’s current fiscal condition.


Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Jerry Joyce 7% Lost
Paul Vallas 5% Lost
Willie Wilson 11% Lost
Toni Preckwinkle 16% Run-Off
William M. Daley 15% Lost
Garry McCarthy 3% Lost
Gery Chico 6% Lost
Susana Mendoza 9% Lost
Amara Enyia 8% Lost
LaShawn Ford 1% Lost
Neal Sales-Griffen 0.3% Lost
Lori Lightfoot 18% Run-Off
Robert “Bob” Fioretti 0.8% Lost
John Kenneth Kozlar 0.4% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Melissa Conyears-Ervin 45% Run-off
Ameya Pawar 42% Run-off
Peter Gariepy 14% Lost


Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Leslie A. Hairston 49% Run-Off
William Calloway 27% Run-Off
Gabriel Piemonte 24% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Joseph G. Williams 9% Lost
Rafael “Rafa” Yanez 22% Run-off
Raymond A. Lopez 49% Run-off
Berto Aguayo 16% Lost
Otis Davis, Jr. 4% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Stephanie D. Coleman 44% Run-off
Latasha M. Sanders 9% Lost
Kenny C. Doss, II 6% Lost
Toni L. Foulkes 32% Run-off
Jeffrey L. Lewis 2% Lost
Eddie Johnson, III 7% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Jeanette B. Taylor 29% Lost
Nicole J. Johnson 23% Run-off
Maya Hodari 11% Run-off
Jennifer O. Maddox 5% Lost
Andre Smith 8% Lost
Dernard D. Newell 1% Lost
Quandra V. Speights 2% Lost
Kevin M. Bailey 16% Run-off
Anthony Driver, Jr. 5% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Hilario Dominguez 21% Lost
Alexander “Alex” Acevedo 22% Run-off
Troy Antonio Hernandez 9% Lost
Byron Sigcho-Lopez 29% Run-Off
Aida Flores 19% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Jessica W. Gutierrez 47% Run-Off
Ariel E. Reboyras 48% Run-Off
Edgar “Edek” Esparza 5% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Robert Murphy 29% Run-off
Samantha “Sam” Nugent 34% Run-off
Casey Smagala 27% Lost
Joe Duplechin 10% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Ugo Okere 15% Lost
Dianne Daleiden 17% Lost
Andre Vasquez 19% Run-Off
Patrick J. O’Connor 34% Run-Off
Maggie O’Keefe 15% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Derek Lindblom 28% Run-Off
Michele Smith 38% Run-Off
Leslie Fox 13% Lost
Jacob Ringer 13% Lost
Steven McClellan 2% Lost
Rebecca Janowitz 5% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Marianne Lalonde 18% Run-Off
Erika Wozniak Francis 17% Lost
Justin Kreindler 4% Lost
James Cappleman 43% Run-Off
Angela Clay 16% Lost
Jon-Robert McDowell 2% Lost
Name % of Vote Won/Lost/Run-Off
Eileen Dordek 18% Lost
Angela “Angie” Maloney 5% Lost
Heather Way Kitzes 5% Lost
Michael A. Negron 21% Run-off
Matt Martin 39% Run-Off
Gus Katsafaros 2% Lost
Thomas M. Schwartzers 2% Lost
Kimball Ladien 1% Lost
Jeff Jenkins 8% Lost