Ollie Scholarship for Underrepresented CRE Professionals: Due February 7

By: | November 30, 2018

Reginald L. Ollie Inclusion & Outreach Scholarship: Applications Due February 7
RPA Full Tuition Opportunity for Underrepresented CRE Professionals

The BOMA/Chicago Foundation is now accepting applications for the Reginald L. Ollie Inclusion and Outreach Scholarship. The Ollie Scholarship provides the $10,000 full tuition to underrepresented professionals in the commercial real estate industry to achieve the Real Property Administrator (RPA) designation. Click here to access the application.

In previous years, employers were required to nominate applicants for this scholarship. The Scholarship Committee has changed this requirement. Applicants must now complete the application on their own and provide three reference letters. Click here to download the packet containing the application and reference forms (note: forms must be submitted online using links in the packet). All parts of the application are due on Thursday, February 7, 2019.

If you plan to apply for this scholarship, please email Jaclynne Madden or call (312) 870-9608 so that we can discuss the application process and requirements.

Ollie Scholarship Eligibility

  • Belong to an underrepresented group. Underrepresented professionals are classified as: racial, ethnic, LGBTQ and disabled.
  • Must have a minimum of two years of experience in the commercial real estate industry.
  • Must be at least 21 years old.
  • Have taken three or less RPA/FMA designation classes prior to applying for the scholarship.
  • Completion of at least one year of college level courses at a college/university and earned a GPA of 2.5/4.0 or 3.5/5.

Reginald L. Ollie Inclusion and Outreach Scholarship Information
The BOMA/Chicago Foundation Reginald L. Ollie Inclusion and Outreach Scholarship (“The Ollie”) is a means to further the general mission of the BOMA/Chicago Foundation: to promote the welfare of the building industry through education and professional development and to provide leadership and advocacy on matters of inclusion.

The Ollie Scholarship of the BOMA/Chicago Foundation is designed to enable individuals currently working in the commercial real estate industry who are also members of groups historically underrepresented in the building industry to achieve professional development through completion of the BOMI Real Property Administrator (RPA) designation. The scholarship covers tuition and provides a mentor for minorities who wish to earn the RPA designation.

The BOMA/Chicago Foundation Ollie Scholarship is awarded to at least one recipient per year, includes full tuition over a three-year period to earn the RPA designation and pairs scholarship recipients with experienced CRE mentors as a way to gain one-on-one assistance with career planning and development. To read a biography of the scholarship's namesake, Reginald L. Ollie, along with testimonials from previous recipients, click here.

Previous Ollie Scholarship Recipients
2018: Christina Perez
2017: Lily Leon
2016: Ebony Andry and Dominique Garrett-Flowers
2015: Shenica Collins and Marissa Rosado
2014: Yordanos Ghdey and Angela Oh; earned their RPAs in 2016
2013: Kristine Sorenson; earned her RPA in 2014
2011: Marisol Olvera
2010: Dina Wagner and Rosalia Leal
2009: Carlos Chavez
2008: Jennifer Majerus; earned her RPA in 2013
2007: Angel Brown; earned her RPA in 2010
2006: Myrna Agosto

2019 Ollie Scholarship Application326.54 KB
2019 Ollie Scholarship FAQs162.45 KB
Reggie Ollie Bio & Testimonials558.53 KB